Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
No Exit by Taylor Adams
Horror

No Exit

Early Release
This is an early release that's only available to our members—the rest of the world has to wait 'til next month to read it.

by Taylor Adams

Quick take

Five strangers are trapped in a blizzard with no way to escape. And, oh yeah—one of them is a psychopath.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Action

    Action-packed

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Scary

    Scary

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Movieish

    Movieish

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Whodunit

    Whodunit

Why I love it

Liberty Hardy
BOTM Judge

Holy cats—this pulse-pounding thriller will have you on the edge of your seat! Lock your doors, turn off your phone, and get ready to ignore all your obligations until you’ve finished No Exit—it’s THAT good.

Ever wondered if you could really be a hero when it mattered most? College student Darby Thorne is stranded in a remote highway rest stop with four strangers during a blizzard. While retrieving something from her car, she discovers a young girl locked in a van in the parking lot. Which of the four strangers inside the rest stop owns the van? Who is the girl? And how can Darcy rescue her without tipping off the kidnapper and potentially getting everyone killed?

Fans of Joe Hill and A.J. Finn will love this book. I loved how Darcy—who has never taken charge of anything before—goes full-throttle into badass mode. And despite my best efforts, I never figured out what was going to happen. Instead, I tore through each explosive surprise, heart pounding in my throat (for what it’s worth, this book gave me a much better idea of just what that expression means). No Exit is a nonstop rollercoaster ride, and I loved every electrifying second of it.

Read less

Synopsis

On her way to Utah to see her dying mother, college student Darby Thorne gets caught in a fierce blizzard in the mountains of Colorado. With the roads impassable, she’s forced to wait out the storm at a remote highway rest stop. Inside, are some vending machines, a coffee maker, and four complete strangers.

Desperate to find a signal to call home, Darby goes back out into the storm ... and makes a horrifying discovery. In the back of the van parked next to her car, a little girl is locked in an animal crate.

Who is the child? Why has she been taken? And how can Darby save her?

There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, and no way out. One of her fellow travelers is a kidnapper. But which one?

Trapped in an increasingly dangerous situation, with a child’s life and her own on the line, Darby must find a way to break the girl out of the van and escape.

But who can she trust?

With exquisitely controlled pacing, Taylor Adams diabolically ratchets up the tension with every page. Full of terrifying twists and hairpin turns, No Exit will have you on the edge of your seat and leave you breathless.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of No Exit.

Member thoughts

All (16420)
All (16420)
Love (10175)
Like (5266)
Dislike (979)
16600 ratings
  • 61% Love
  • 32% Like
  • 6% Dislike
  • Yonkers , NY

    Wow! Amazing start to finish. Read it all in a day. So many twists and turns. Yes - corny dialogue at times but the story keeps you on the edge of your seat up until the very last sentence. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Clinton, UT

    I couldn’t put this book down! I read it on my trip from Utah to San Diego...???????????? (Also, my brother has Addison’s disease) so this book had me hooked. So good and I’m recommending to everyone I know.

  • Bowling Green, KY

    There’s something really striking and lovable about a main character who thinks to herself: “I’m going to die tonight and what I’m doing could be thought out better, but it’s too late now.” I loved it

  • Howell, MI

    So much action in one book! And so “spine-tingling.” I got chills from being so uncomfortable from several events throughout. I couldn’t put it down! Hands down one of the best books I’ve ever read.

  • Whitney, TX

    I admit that the first few chapters had me thinking “Boooooo bad juju”. Mainly because I THOUGHT I had it all figured out. Thankfully I hung in there and realized I didn’t! Great plot twist and story!

  • Albuquerque , NM

    It has been a long time since I’ve stayed up all night to finish a book, but I couldn’t put this one down! Full of twists with a great story, you can’t help but turn the page to find out what happens!

  • Port Saint Lucie, FL

    This was my first BOTM order and I wasn’t disappointed! Finished the book in a weekend because I couldn’t put it down. The ending was a crazy ride and I wasn’t sure if I wanted it to end or keep going

  • Minot, ND

    This book instantly grabbed my attention and I couldn’t put it down. There was definitely a lot of “WTF” moments. All though I had an idea of what was going to happen, it still shocked me and was good

  • Rising Sun, MD

    I dont usually pick a book like this, but reading let’s us expand our likes and dislikes , now I’m a big fan of this type of thriller. I could not stop reading this one, I’m still talking about it.

  • Nashville, TN

    My friend warned me to start this book at a good time because I wouldn’t be able to put it down. I didn’t take her advice & ended up staying up til 1:AM on a work night to finish it. Highly recommend!

  • Raleigh , NC

    This book gets you hooked from the very first chapter! It’s been a long time since I loved a book so much that I read it in one sitting. This was one! Definitely a must read if you’re a thriller fan!

  • Temperance, MI

    This book is so intense! I could not put it down!! If this ever gets made into a movie, I’d watch it! I loved reading this so much I would suggest to anyone that likes to read. It’s written very well!

  • El Paso, TX

    Scariest and most stressful book I have ever read. I loved how detailed the writing is. The details make you feel everything the character is feeling and you can’t put it down. Don’t read before bed.

  • Shrewsbury, MA

    I couldn’t put down this fast paced thriller. Darby’s nightmare unfolded so quickly right from chapter 1 and I was hooked. Constant twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat until the last page.

  • Tucson , AZ

    So good!!! I couldn’t put it down. I have recommended this book to everyone I know! I want to read it again to make sure I didn’t miss anything. The details and writing style are absolute perfection.

  • Meshoppen, PA

    I read this book in 2 days b/c it’s an adrenaline rush from the start. If this were a movie I wouldn’t even blink. Intense, visceral, w/ enough pitfalls & gruesome twists to keep the dread alive. Wow.

  • Decatur, GA

    This book is so good! It reads like a movie, keeping you on your toes at every turn! I couldn’t put it down. Just when you think you know what’s about to happen, the plot shifts momentum. A must read!

  • Montgomery, AL

    This book is exactly what a thriller should be. It was quick, exciting, and took some interesting turns. Once I was about 20 pages in, I couldn’t put it down. Perfect winter thriller, don’t miss this!

  • Portland , OR

    This book grabbed me right away . I found myself constantly thinking of which actress would play the main character. She was so strong ,and resilient.Sad when this one ended ! waiting for the movie ????

  • Cape Coral, FL

    Boy was this book a rollercoaster. At times I found myself dropping my head and saying “I hate this book”. Every time their was a sliver of hope, it was taken away. But that’s what kept me reading.

Horror
  • The Chestnut Man
  • The Sun Down Motel
  • Home Before Dark
  • The Whisper Man
  • Final Girls
  • No Exit
  • The Lies We Told
  • The Shadows
  • Lock Every Door
  • Mexican Gothic
  • The Last Time I Lied