Pinterest tracking pixel
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.

Quick take

When her boyfriend disappears, Clara must sort through his family's web of lies to discover where he went—and if it's too late to save him.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_FastRead

    Fast read

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Psychological

    Psychological

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Puzzle

    Puzzle

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Creepy

    Creepy

Why I love it

“At first I mistook the severed head for something else.” The first sentence of this book had me SHOOK. I was so intrigued that I didn’t stop reading until I reached the last page! The Lies We Told contains two heart-pounding, twisty plots—and I could. Not. Wait. To see how they came together.

Cambridge, 1980: Beth and her husband tried for years to have a child until they were finally blessed with a beautiful baby girl named Hannah. But as their little bundle of joy starts to grow up, it appears she might be a little ... disturbed?

London, 2017: Clara has the perfect life ahead of her, until her boyfriend doesn’t come home one night. Where could he be? And could his disappearance have anything to do with his sister, who vanished twenty years earlier?

This was exactly the deliciously disturbing mystery I was looking for! The book contains a creepy, soulless villain—in fact, the most evil character I have read in a long time—delivered in a drama-filled thriller full of secrets and lies. Told back and forth between past and present, Way perfectly teases out the pieces of the puzzles, so that just when you think you might know what is happening, everything gets turned around again. Perfect for readers of Ruth Ware and Shari Lapena, The Lies We Told is a high-octane mystery that will have you racing through the pages.

Read less

Synopsis

When Clara's boyfriend, Luke, disappears, everyone believes that he's left her, but Clara thinks she knows the truth. Recent evidence suggests that Luke had a stalker, and Clara worries that he's been kidnapped. Then Luke's older sister, Emma, who vanished twenty years ago, suddenly reappears.

Emma wants to help Clara with her search for Luke, but she refuses to talk about what happened—even though it nearly destroyed her family when she vanished. And the deeper Clara digs into Luke's mysterious disappearance, the more convinced she is that the two incidents are connected.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of Camilla Way's The Lies We Told

Read a sample →

Member thoughts

All (6925)
All (6925)
Love (3792)
Like (2963)
Dislike (170)
7071 ratings
  • 54% Love
  • 42% Like
  • 2% Dislike
    October 2018
    • The Clockmaker's Daughter
    • An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    • The Lies We Told
    • In the Hurricane's Eye
    • Winter in Paradise