Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksThrillerThe House Across the Lake
The House Across the Lake by Riley Sager
Thriller

The House Across the Lake

by Riley Sager

Quick take

Alcohol and binoculars are a potent pairing! Let the paranoia guide you through the latest chiller from Riley Sager.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Psychological

    Psychological

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Creepy

    Creepy

  • Illustrated icon, Icons_Rural_update

    Rural

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_MarriageIssues

    Marriage issues

Why I love it

Nicole Baart
Author, Everything We Didn't Say

They say there’s nothing new under the sun, but in The House Across the Lake, Riley Sager manages to put a fresh spin on nearly every facet of the thriller genre. At first glance, the premise may seem familiar—Sager serves up an unreliable narrator, a spooky setting, and a series of unsolved crimes—but readers will quickly learn that nothing is quite what it seems. Each chapter turns the kaleidoscope, obliterating our preconceived ideas and ensuring that the plot twists (and yes, there is more than one!) leave us stunned.

When Casey Fletcher—a washed-up, B-level actress—is exiled to her family’s remote lake house, she plans to drink herself into oblivion in an effort to forget the traumatic death of her beloved husband. But a harrowing encounter with the supermodel who vacations across the lake sets her on a collision course with the past. Toss in a sexy neighbor, an impending storm, and some serious Rear Window vibes, and The House Across the Lake is guaranteed to make you stay up way past your bedtime.

It’s no secret that Riley Sager has established himself as a master of psychological suspense, and his considerable talent is on full display in this riveting book. Ideal for fans of Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, and Alex Michaelides, The House Across the Lake is a deliciously unexpected and suspenseful thriller that makes the perfect summery read.

Read less

Synopsis

Casey Fletcher, a recently widowed actress trying to escape a streak of bad press, has retreated to the peace and quiet of her family’s lake house in Vermont. Armed with a pair of binoculars and several bottles of liquor, she passes the time watching Tom and Katherine Royce, the glamorous couple who live in the house across the lake. They make for good viewing—a tech innovator, Tom is rich; and a former model, Katherine is gorgeous.

One day on the lake, Casey saves Katherine from drowning, and the two strike up a budding friendship. But the more they get to know each other—and the longer Casey watches—it becomes clear that Katherine and Tom’s marriage is not as perfect and placid as it appears. When Katherine suddenly vanishes, Casey becomes consumed with finding out what happened to her. In the process, she uncovers eerie, darker truths that turn a tale of voyeurism and suspicion into a story of guilt, obsession and how looks can be very deceiving.

With his trademark blend of sharp characters, psychological suspense, and gasp-worthy surprises, Riley Sager’s The House Across the Lake unveils more than one twist that will shock readers until the very last page.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of The House Across the Lake.

Read a sample →

Member thoughts

All (5941)
All (5941)
Love (2882)
Like (2547)
Dislike (512)
5959 ratings
  • 48% Love
  • 43% Like
  • 9% Dislike
    Thriller
    • Blacktop Wasteland
    • The Broken Girls
    • The Hunting Party
    • We Were Never Here
    • The Collective
    • Too Good to Be True
    • You Are Not Alone
    • Rock Paper Scissors
    • The Push
    • Not a Happy Family
    • A Flicker in the Dark
    • The Last Flight
    • The Damage
    • Reckless Girls
    • The Wife Upstairs
    • The Last Thing He Told Me
    • The Night She Disappeared
    • The Maidens
    • Everything We Didn't Say
    • Invisible Girl
    • The Paris Apartment
    • The Book of Cold Cases
    • The Guest List
    • The Wife Between Us
    • Goodnight Beautiful
    • November Road
    • The Dark Lake
    • The Family Upstairs
    • Pretty Little Wife
    • The Line That Held Us
    • The Child
    • The Other Woman
    • The Girl in the Mirror
    • Gone Girl
    • The Alienist
    • The Winter Sister
    • Dark Places
    • An Anonymous Girl
    • Bonfire
    • Cross Her Heart
    • Fierce Kingdom
    • The Hunting Wives
    • Necessary People
    • Sweet Little Lies
    • Into the Water
    • Girl A
    • Before She Knew Him
    • The Night Swim
    • Then She Was Gone
    • Behind Her Eyes
    • The Half Sister
    • The Silent Patient