Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksThrillerThe Woman in the Window
The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
Thriller

The Woman in the Window

BOTY FINALIST
Each year thousands of members vote for our Book of the Year award—congrats to The Woman in the Window!
Debut
We love supporting debut authors. Congrats, A.J. Finn, on your first book!

by A.J. Finn

Quick take

A shut-in spends her days spying on her neighbors. One day she witnesses something terrifying ... Or does she?

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_FastRead

    Fast read

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Psychological

    Psychological

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_400

    400+ pages

Why I love it

Elizabeth Sile

Pretend you haven’t already read that the screen rights sold before it even hit bookstores, or that the author received a seven-figure advance. And ignore the comparisons—you knew they were coming—to Girl on the Train and Gone Girl. The Woman in the Window is a great psychological thriller that lives up to the months of hype it’s been getting.

Anna Fox, once a successful child psychologist, lives alone in her Harlem townhouse spying on her neighbors, mixing psychotropics with red wine, watching old films—Hitchcock’s Rear Window, which this book is loosely based on—and chatting on message boards. Early on we learn that Anna suffers from agoraphobia (fear of crowed spaces), brought on by a traumatic incident, rendering her unable to leave her home without having a panic attack.

When a new family moves in across the street from her front window, Anna begins watching them through her Nikon. Then, one night, she sees a terrifying crime occur in one of their bedrooms. But here’s the twist: Anna, who has been drinking and popping those aforementioned pills all night, can’t prove that what she saw really happened. And no one, not the police or her neighbors, believes her.

Debut author A.J. Finn is already an old pro at characterization. When Anna finally ventures outside and her mental state spirals out of control, we’re right in that terrifying spiral with her. It seems like every thriller these days features an unreliable narrator—and Anna Fox is one, too—but unlike many recent thrillers, The Woman in the Window’s plot twists are genuinely surprising, and not just shocking for shock’s sake. Film buffs, too, will love the references to Hitchcock and other classic films.

With each short chapter, Finn leaves you wanting more. I read this one in one sitting, then couldn’t help but draw shut the curtains in my apartment.

Read less

Synopsis

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening ...

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Read less

Preview

Member thoughts

All (22624)
All (22624)
Love (13814)
Like (7892)
Dislike (918)
22883 ratings
  • 60% Love
  • 34% Like
  • 4% Dislike
  • Ben Wheeler , TX

    100 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️Suspenseful, with just enough allusions and “maybe” clues to keep you 100% engaged and solving it wrong! Great job on that “hair on the back of your neck feeling” Creepy & chilling!

  • South Lake Tahoe, CA

    I’m not a fan of thriller mysteries, but AJ Finn may have changed all that. This book will absolutely keep you guessing until the very end, which won’t be too long as it is also a frantic page turner.

  • bridgewater, MA

    I read this entire book in a day, couldnt put it down! The story takes you down different roads and you get confused whats reality and what’s Anna’s reality. I actually had a nightmare after finishing

  • Mendham, NJ

    It’s so well written. I guessed a bit of the ending pretty early on but it didn’t stop me from thoroughly enjoying it. Gave it 4.5 stars because a part of me can’t forgive Ana Fox for what she did.

  • Thousand Oaks , CA

    I loved this book! Its one I wouldn’t have picked up on my own without it being an option in BOTM club, and I’m so glad it was! Such an amazing psychological thriller without feeling like it was one.

  • Byron, IL

    I couldn’t put it down. Finished it in less than two days. It’s hard not to feel sympathy towards the main character as you watch her mental health deteriorate throughout. Filled with so many twists.

  • Hialeah, FL

    I could not stop reading! The chapters were so short that I found myself saying “this is the last chapter” multiple times before finally closing the book. The film noir references were everything <3

  • fort mill, SC

    One of the best books i’ve read in 2020 so far! Absolutey on the edge of my seat the entire time - I couldn’t put it down. Once the plot twists began, they didn’t stop til the last page. Excellent!

  • Murray, UT

    Wow is all i can say. This is a psychological thriller with many twists and turns and just when you think it’s done, there’s another twist. I could have never guessed how the book was going to unfold

  • Eminence , KY

    I took me a while to get into this one, but once I did I devoured the last 300 pages in one sitting. I saw some of it coming, but I’m still shocked by what I didn’t foresee. I really liked this one.

  • New York, NY

    Really awesome thriller!! Very unique, and I enjoyed the storyline itself and details about the main character’s life and problems beyond the mystery itself. Read it in one day, couldn’t put it down.

  • Barstow, CA

    The beginning is so slow. It saves all of the good twists for the end which makes it a hard books to get through. If I had set it down I don’t think I would have picked it back up. But it’s worth it.

  • Nashville, TN

    I finished this book within 12 hours. I didn’t see the twist coming because I was so focused on the main character that I didn’t put pieces together outside of the first POV narrative. Highly rec.!

  • Garfield , NJ

    I couldn’t put this book down - A.J Finn never dissapoints. In the beginning of the book I hated Ed and by ch. 75, I couldn’t stop crying. I went through all the feels with this book as a mom & wife

  • New York, NY

    This book was everything it promised to be, and more. It starts slow, but the imagery is impeccable and Finn makes sure you’re acquianted with the surroundings before setting you on the rollercoaster.

  • Mingo Junction , OH

    This book was so good! It was written so well. A lot of flash backs and it really made me have to think. I love the ending because I really didn’t know if she was sane! A well played ending. Must read

  • Chesterfield , MO

    A great ride. Feels like it was written to be a film, which of course it was. I’ll be first in line to see it. Enjoyed the old movie references, but sometimes the dialog got in the way of the plot.

  • Brooklyn, NY

    Amazon, intense; plot twists - loved this book so much. Just when I thought I figured it all out, the story changed! Truly amazing story to read, such a great thriller. Can’t wait to see it as a movie

  • Rocky Point, NY

    When you watch a scary movie and you know something is about to pop out, you cover your eyes. This is the first book that’s made me cover my eyes. Addicting, heart-stopping, & psychologically brillant

  • Salinas, CA

    Did not see that coming!! Interesting and unusual choice for a main character. So many twists and turns as the plot unravels. Read this in just a couple of sittings as I had to find out what’s happeni

Thriller
  • The Maidens
  • Not a Happy Family
  • Razorblade Tears
  • The Last Thing He Told Me
  • The Wife Upstairs
  • Too Good to Be True
  • The Push
  • The Last Flight
  • 56 Days
  • The Damage
  • Rock Paper Scissors
  • Survive the Night
  • The Woman in the Window
  • The Hunting Party
  • The Silent Patient
  • Goodnight Beautiful
  • Winter Counts
  • The Hunting Wives
  • Pretty Little Wife
  • The Guest List
  • Invisible Girl
  • Girl A
  • Behind Her Eyes
  • The Girl in the Mirror
  • The Night Swim
  • Before She Knew Him
  • Then She Was Gone
  • You Are Not Alone
  • Sharp Objects
  • The Family Upstairs
  • The Wife Between Us
  • Into the Water
  • Gone Girl
  • Dark Places
  • The Alienist
  • Since We Fell
  • The Blinds
  • Cross Her Heart
  • The Chestnut Man
  • The Winter Sister
  • The Other Woman
  • Necessary People