Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow
Young adult

The Sound of Stars

Debut
We love supporting debut authors. Congrats, Alechia Dow, on your first book!

by Alechia Dow

Quick take

The alien-human friendship you didn't know you needed, all founded on a shared love for great tunes.

Good to know

  • Romance

  • Social issues

  • Supernatural

  • Graphic violence

Why I love it

In a futuristic New York City, the human population is controlled by an alien race called Ilori, who have banned humans from emotional expression—including all art, music, and writing. Seventeen-year-old Ellie keeps a secret library, which, when discovered by alien boy M0Rr1S, is cause for her execution.

But sometimes emotional connections are too strong to betray, and sometimes the music is just too good to keep from dancing.

The Sound of Stars is a super charming romance filled with fun pop culture references, a highly diverse cast, and a joyful take on the future of human creativity. For fans of The Book Thief and Marissa Meyer—and all those who love storytelling—this one is for you.

Read less

Synopsis

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity’s emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her.

Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They’re both breaking the rules for love of art—and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does.

Ellie’s—and humanity’s—fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution—thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

Read less

Sneak peek

Check out a preview of The Sound of Stars.

Read a sample →