Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.

Get a free book when you use code SPRINGFLING.

Join today!
The Mothers
The MothersMilla (1)
I know I'm late to this discussion....

But I'm new to BOTM and I just finished reading this book and had to get it off my chest. Especially the brilliant choice of narrator (which I feel often goes unused by authors)

I was left feeling an overwhelming loneliness. For the father betrayed by his pastor, and the pastor betrayed by his congregation. For the soldier, fighting for a country that does not fight for him, who had so much to offer someone who could not accept it. For the husband and wife who loved each other but not enough and not the most, who would remind each other of that loneliness with their very presence. For the husband abandoned by his wife and for the wife so filled with desperation that she abandoned her family. For the girl who lost not only her mother, but the unborn child that haunts her thoughts, the father drifting away across a vast ocean of grief, and the two people she loved for helping her stay afloat in her own ocean while they swam through theirs.

The narration, being objective and almost cold in tone, created a barrier that prevented the reader from fully absorbing the characters' pain, as if we were left to watch from shore as our hearts broke for these drowning, unreachable swimmers. This isolated the characters, and thereby the reader, leaving us not to feel the characters' immense loneliness but our own, surpassing sympathy and entering empathy, a more desolate place to be.