Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksThrillerDaisy Darker
Daisy Darker by Alice Feeney
Thriller

Daisy Darker

Repeat author
Alice Feeney is back at Book of the Month – other BOTMs include Rock Paper Scissors.
Early Release
This is an early release that's only available to our members—the rest of the world has to wait 'til next month to read it.

by Alice Feeney

Quick take

Crumbling estate? Check. Bundle of family secrets? Check. Folks getting picked off like flies? Check. Trust no one.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_FastRead

    Fast read

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_NonLinear

    Nonlinear timeline

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Creepy

    Creepy

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Whodunit

    Whodunit

Why I love it

Catherine Ryan Howard
Author, 56 Days

Being a mystery and thriller writer is my dream job, but it has ruined my great love: reading mysteries and thrillers. I find it impossible to stop scrutinizing the mechanics and relax and enjoy them like I used to—unless they’re written by Alice Feeney.

In Daisy Darker, the estranged Darker family reluctantly gathers at Nana’s dilapidated coastal cottage to mark her 80th birthday. “Seaglass” stands alone on a tiny tidal island; at high tide, the Darkers will be stuck together and cut off from the rest of the world for a long eight hours. But just as Nana’s eighty-strong quirky clock collection chimes midnight, she’s found dead. An hour later, someone else is dead. Low tide is still five hours away. Who of the Darkers will survive until then?

This novel has a truly gasp-inducing twist. Some readers may say it breaks the “rules” but I say let’s smash them all into smithereens if it’s to this spectacular of an effect. What I particularly love about Feeney’s writing is that her twists are always only the garnish, never the main meal. Even if you guess it or suspect it, there’s still so much deliciousness to enjoy in her clever, stylish, and utterly gripping novels.

Fans of Sarah Pinborough and Riley Sager please make your way to Seaglass before the tide comes in. Unlike the Darker family, you won’t regret it.

Read less

Synopsis

After years of avoiding each other, Daisy Darker’s entire family is assembling for Nana’s 80th birthday party in Nana’s crumbling gothic house on a tiny tidal island. Finally back together one last time, when the tide comes in, they will be cut off from the rest of the world for eight hours.

The family arrives, each of them harboring secrets. Then at the stroke of midnight, as a storm rages, Nana is found dead. And an hour later, the next family member follows . . .

Trapped on an island where someone is killing them one by one, the Darkers must reckon with their present mystery as well as their past secrets, before the tide comes in and all is revealed.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of Daisy Darker.

Read a sample →

Member thoughts

All (26434)
All (26434)
Love (14631)
Like (10262)
Dislike (1541)
26727 ratings
  • 55% Love
  • 38% Like
  • 6% Dislike
    Thriller
    • Blacktop Wasteland
    • The Broken Girls
    • The Hunting Party
    • We Were Never Here
    • The Collective
    • Too Good to Be True
    • You Are Not Alone
    • Rock Paper Scissors
    • A Good Marriage
    • The Push
    • Not a Happy Family
    • A Flicker in the Dark
    • The Last Flight
    • The Damage
    • Reckless Girls
    • The Wife Upstairs
    • The Last Thing He Told Me
    • The Night She Disappeared
    • The Maidens
    • Everything We Didn't Say
    • Invisible Girl
    • The Paris Apartment
    • The Book of Cold Cases
    • The Guest List
    • The Night Swim
    • The Winter Sister
    • Into the Water
    • Goodnight Beautiful
    • November Road
    • Behind Her Eyes
    • Pretty Little Wife
    • The Line That Held Us
    • The Hunting Wives
    • Necessary People
    • The Girl in the Mirror
    • Then She Was Gone
    • Girl A
    • Before She Knew Him
    • The Wife Between Us
    • The Silent Patient
    • The Alienist
    • Cross Her Heart
    • Dark Places
    • The Family Upstairs
    • Gone Girl
    • The Other Woman