Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksHorrorThe Lies We Told
The Lies We Told by Camilla Way
Horror

The Lies We Told

by Camilla Way

Quick take

When her boyfriend disappears, Clara must sort through his family's web of lies to discover where he went—and if it's too late to save him.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_FastRead

    Fast read

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Psychological

    Psychological

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Puzzle

    Puzzle

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Creepy

    Creepy

Why I love it

Liberty Hardy
BOTM Judge

“At first I mistook the severed head for something else.” The first sentence of this book had me SHOOK. I was so intrigued that I didn’t stop reading until I reached the last page! The Lies We Told contains two heart-pounding, twisty plots—and I could. Not. Wait. To see how they came together.

Cambridge, 1980: Beth and her husband tried for years to have a child until they were finally blessed with a beautiful baby girl named Hannah. But as their little bundle of joy starts to grow up, it appears she might be a little ... disturbed?

London, 2017: Clara has the perfect life ahead of her, until her boyfriend doesn’t come home one night. Where could he be? And could his disappearance have anything to do with his sister, who vanished twenty years earlier?

This was exactly the deliciously disturbing mystery I was looking for! The book contains a creepy, soulless villain—in fact, the most evil character I have read in a long time—delivered in a drama-filled thriller full of secrets and lies. Told back and forth between past and present, Way perfectly teases out the pieces of the puzzles, so that just when you think you might know what is happening, everything gets turned around again. Perfect for readers of Ruth Ware and Shari Lapena, The Lies We Told is a high-octane mystery that will have you racing through the pages.

Read less

Synopsis

When Clara's boyfriend, Luke, disappears, everyone believes that he's left her, but Clara thinks she knows the truth. Recent evidence suggests that Luke had a stalker, and Clara worries that he's been kidnapped. Then Luke's older sister, Emma, who vanished twenty years ago, suddenly reappears.

Emma wants to help Clara with her search for Luke, but she refuses to talk about what happened—even though it nearly destroyed her family when she vanished. And the deeper Clara digs into Luke's mysterious disappearance, the more convinced she is that the two incidents are connected.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of Camilla Way's The Lies We Told

Member thoughts

All (8326)
All (8326)
Love (4426)
Like (3687)
Dislike (213)
8511 ratings
  • 52% Love
  • 43% Like
  • 3% Dislike
  • Scottsdale, AZ

    Such a fast read that left my skin crawling. Half the time you’re rooting for the characters, half the time you’re yelling at them why are you so dumb?! Then the last five chapters you’re going WHAT?!

  • Mingo Junction , OH

    It was a great book to read! I couldn’t put this book down! The twist and turn of the book really drew me in so deeply I couldn’t stop reading until it was done! The ending was good but wish it didnt!

  • Pekin, IL

    I couldn’t put this book down! I usually take about 2 weeks to finish a book with my crazy schedule, I finished it in 5-6 days. I’m not a book expert by any means but this book was seriously consuming

  • Washington, DC

    I read this book in less than a day. The author spins a web throughout the story that leaves you on a constant cliffhanger, and it’s absolutely impossible to Put down. For anyone who loves a mystery!

  • Apple Valley, CA

    I loved this book. The author gave us breadcrumbs throughout and I didn’t want to put it down until I put all the pieces together. I hate it when I can guess an ending and I couldn’t guess this one.

  • South Pittsburg , TN

    “Those closest to us have the most to hide.” . A sociopathic child A boyfriend gone without a trace Years separate the two until lies once told bring both stories crashing together. Read it now!

  • Seneca, MO

    WOW. so many times that the different plots were twisting and turning & I’m like how on earth is this connected? Then when it connects... WHAM- like one of those heavy saloon doors. LOVED the mystery!

  • Minot, ND

    I’ve hit the jackpot many more times than I ever thought I would-this is another great book that I couldn’t put down - I would think I had it figured out and then something would throw me. Fun read.

  • Thornton, CO

    This book gave me the creeps! The aurthor did AMAZING with developing Hannah, and I loved all the twists at the end! Lastly, I loved how the book wasn’t completely resolved at the end, PERFECT ending!

  • Seattle, WA

    I didn’t like Clara at the beginning, but I grew to like her a lot more throughout. I think Camilla Way does a really good job making the reader invested in the story and the characters. Plot twist!!

  • spokane, WA

    I couldn’t put this book down. I took it with me on an evening walk and didn’t notice the time passing until the sun started setting. Two distinct plot lines that weave around each other so well!!!

  • Levittown, PA

    I could not put this book down! So much suspense in trying to unravel the mystery of the Lawson’s past. Just when you think you have it figured out, the author hits you with another plot twist. Love!

  • Meherrin, VA

    Amazing from start to finish! Once I started, I couldn’t put it down! Once you thought you had it figured out, you were wrong! There’s so many twisted turns and events! I was hooked from the start!

  • Holland, MI

    I loved every minute of this book! Finished it in less than a day. I loved the use of two viewpoints and timelines to tell the whole story. The plot twists were the absolute best. Don't sleep on this!

  • Parish, NY

    Really captivated me. I thought I knew who the kidnapper was, but there was always something coming that you didn't expect. Loved the parallel stories that lead to finish together.Hoping for a sequel!

  • Winston Salem, NC

    This book kept me going from moment to moment. When I thought I knew what might happened I was always shocked to find out just how wrong I was but for all the right reasons that made this book amazing

  • McKinney, TX

    I really loved this book! Clara was fantastic and her reactions were refreshingly realistic. She was a great strong female lead! The story surrounding Luke's disappearance was kept me reading nonstop!

  • Apex, NC

    WOW! This chilling story will have me looking around at the people I know for a long time! What an exceptionally well-written novel of suspense! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute i spent reading it.

  • Milford, IA

    fast paced read. I found myself confused pretty often feeling like I had missed something. great book if you're looking for something that will keep pulling you back to figure out wth is going on. 4/5

  • Tucson, AZ

    Full of twists and turns throughout, down to the very last pages. Clara's boyfriend Luke goes missing and she decides to help track him down, digging up lots of his past (and family drama!) as well!!!

Horror
  • The Chestnut Man
  • The Sun Down Motel
  • Home Before Dark
  • The Whisper Man
  • Final Girls
  • No Exit
  • The Lies We Told
  • The Shadows
  • Lock Every Door
  • Mexican Gothic
  • The Last Time I Lied