Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksMysteryThe Paris Apartment
The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley
Mystery

The Paris Apartment

Repeat author
Lucy Foley is back at Book of the Month – other BOTMs include The Guest List and The Hunting Party.

by Lucy Foley

Quick take

Sometimes you visit the City of Lights and the vibe is just off ... you know what I mean? Looking at you, neighbors.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_FastRead

    Fast read

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_International

    International

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Whodunit

    Whodunit

  • Illustrated icon, Icons_Buzzy

    Buzzy

Why I love it

Ashley Audrain
Author, The Push

There’s something so wonderfully satisfying about settling in with a new book you know won’t disappoint—and Lucy Foley has established herself as that kind of trusted author. In The Paris Apartment, a deliciously creepy and clever whodunit told in alternating points of view, we’re treated to yet another atmospheric page-turner and writing that feels simply effortless, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Ruth Ware.

As you might imagine, the eerie Paris apartment where this mystery unfolds is its own wonderfully drawn character, a swanky but unsettling old building with walls that seem to know something we don’t. The Paris Foley gives us in this novel isn’t one of charm and romance; it’s dark and menacing. Like the cast of distinctive characters led by down-and-out heroine Jess, determined to find out what’s happened to her journalist-brother Ben, who is nowhere to be found when she shows up to visit from London. As Jess meets Ben’s dysfunctional neighbors one by one, she begins to suspect that nobody in the apartment is as innocent as they want her to believe…

A treat to devour—especially those last revealing chapters!—The Paris Apartment is yet another entertaining and escapist mystery from the talented Lucy Foley.

Read less

Synopsis

Jess needs a fresh start. She’s broke and alone, and she’s just left her job under less than ideal circumstances. Her half-brother Ben didn’t sound thrilled when she asked if she could crash with him for a bit, but he didn’t say no, and surely everything will look better from Paris. Only when she shows up—to find a very nice apartment, could Ben really have afforded this?—he’s not there.

The longer Ben stays missing, the more Jess starts to dig into her brother’s situation, and the more questions she has. Ben’s neighbors are an eclectic bunch, and not particularly friendly. Jess may have come to Paris to escape her past, but it’s starting to look like it’s Ben’s future that’s in question.

The socialite – The nice guy – The alcoholic – The girl on the verge – The concierge

Everyone’s a neighbor. Everyone’s a suspect. And everyone knows something they’re not telling.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of The Paris Apartment.

Read a sample →

Member thoughts

All (33195)
All (33195)
Love (14146)
Like (16646)
Dislike (2403)
33341 ratings
  • 42% Love
  • 50% Like
  • 7% Dislike
    Mystery
    • Arsenic and Adobo
    • The Paris Apartment
    • One by One
    • Two Girls Down
    • Dead Letters
    • Long Bright River
    • The Turn of the Key
    • The Woman in Cabin 10
    • When the Stars Go Dark
    • The Sisters Chase
    • The Broken Girls
    • The Survivors
    • The Anomaly
    • The Couple Next Door
    • Still Lives
    • The Lying Game
    • Not That I Could Tell