Pinterest tracking pixel
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksYoung adultThe Sound of Stars
The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow
Young adult

The Sound of Stars

Debut
We love supporting debut authors. Congrats, Alechia Dow, on your first book!

by Alechia Dow

Quick take

The alien-human friendship you didn't know you needed, all founded on a shared love for great tunes.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Romance

    Romance

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_SocialIssues

    Social issues

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Supernatural

    Supernatural

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_GraphicViolence

    Graphic violence

Why I love it

Christina Orlando
Books Editor & Publicity Coordinator, Tor.com

In a futuristic New York City, the human population is controlled by an alien race called Ilori, who have banned humans from emotional expression—including all art, music, and writing. Seventeen-year-old Ellie keeps a secret library, which, when discovered by alien boy M0Rr1S, is cause for her execution.

But sometimes emotional connections are too strong to betray, and sometimes the music is just too good to keep from dancing.

The Sound of Stars is a super charming romance filled with fun pop culture references, a highly diverse cast, and a joyful take on the future of human creativity. For fans of The Book Thief and Marissa Meyer—and all those who love storytelling—this one is for you.

Read less

Synopsis

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity’s emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her.

Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They’re both breaking the rules for love of art—and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does.

Ellie’s—and humanity’s—fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution—thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

Read less

Preview

Check out a preview of The Sound of Stars.

Member thoughts

All (272)
All (272)
Love (131)
Like (115)
Dislike (26)
287 ratings
  • 46% Love
  • 40% Like
  • 9% Dislike
    Young adult
    • These Violent Delights
    • Legendborn
    • Anna K Away
    • Firekeeper's Daughter
    • Girl, Serpent, Thorn
    • Instructions for Dancing
    • The Boy in the Red Dress
    • Woven in Moonlight
    • Color Me In
    • Not So Pure and Simple
    • Throw Like a Girl
    • Frankly in Love
    • The Queen of Nothing
    • On the Come Up
    • Wayward Son
    • The Stars and the Blackness Between Them
    • Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
    • Anna K
    • The Rest of the Story
    • The Red Scrolls of Magic
    • This Time Will Be Different
    • Patron Saints of Nothing
    • The Kingdom of Back
    • Yes No Maybe So
    • Ashlords
    • Looking for Alaska
    • The Gilded Wolves
    • Permanent Record
    • Full Disclosure
    • The Sound of Stars
    • Oasis
    • Where the World Ends
    • I Have No Secrets
    • Song of the Crimson Flower
    • When the Stars Lead to You
    • All the Bright Places
    • The Girl the Sea Gave Back
    • Saving Zoë
    • The Downstairs Girl
    • Hello Girls
    • Mind Games
    • Symptoms of a Heartbreak
    • All of Us with Wings
    • The Boy and Girl Who Broke the World
    • Past Perfect Life
    • There's Something About Sweetie
    • Again, But Better
    • Descendant of the Crane
    • Sky Without Stars
    • How (Not) to Ask a Boy to Prom
    • You'd Be Mine
    • Night Music
    • Opposite of Always
    • When the Sky Fell on Splendor
    • Shout
    • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
    • The Deceivers
    • Enchantée
    • The Astonishing Color of After
    • Top Ten
    • Turtles All the Way Down
    • Little & Lion
    • A Million Junes
    • The Impossible Fortress
    • The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
    • Girls in the Moon
    • You Will Know Me
    • The Sun Is Also a Star
    • Salt to the Sea