Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at accessibility@bookofthemonth.com or 1-833-959-2686.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksYoung adultWe Hunt the Flame
We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal
Young adult

We Hunt the Flame

Debut
We love supporting debut authors. Congrats, Hafsah Faizal, on your first book!

by Hafsah Faizal

Quick take

Fearless hunters and feared assassins in mythical ancient Arabia.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icons_Series

    First in series

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Magical

    Magical

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_GraphicViolence

    Graphic violence

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Murder

    Murder

Why I love it

Lily Philpott
@lilyphilpott

Hafsah Faizal’s We Hunt the Flame is a fierce #OwnVoices debut: a lushly detailed epic fantasy inspired by ancient Arabia with a vivid, well-rounded cast of characters and a plot that makes it hard to put down.

The story focuses on two main characters: Zafira, a young woman who disguises herself as a man to conceal her identity as she hunts to feed her community; and Nasir, a prince and an assassin who is trapped and controlled by his father's will. As their world is threatened, Zafira and Nasir are drawn together in a dangerous quest to restore magic to their people—first at odds, and then as part of a gang of characters who come together for their common goal.

I was excited to read this book because I love a good YA fantasy, but also because I deeply admire the work Hafsah Faizal does in the YA community at large. She’s a tireless advocate for meaningful representation throughout the genre, and I've learned a lot from both her book and her Twitter feed. This is a well-written fantasy that’s both sweeping and intimate, and I look forward to seeing what's next.

Read less

Synopsis

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the king. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways.

Both are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya—but neither wants to be.

War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the king on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds—and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine.

Read less

Preview

Check out a preview of We Hunt the Flame.

Member thoughts

All (427)
All (427)
Love (239)
Like (148)
Dislike (40)
446 ratings
  • 54% Love
  • 33% Like
  • 9% Dislike
  • Libertyville, IL

    This book broke my heart! I am so excited for the next one, and I only hope Hafsah will treat my babies better this time! ❤ Beautiful world building, complex characters and relationships. All the yes!

  • Kokomo, IN

    This was such an excellent story. I cannot wait to dive into book two. The atmosphere, the characters, the setting — everything was flawless. The only complaint I had stems from my own book hangover.

  • Fairfax, VA

    It almost everything in it! It had action, enemies-to-lovers slow burn romance, strong female characters, and a complex & diverse world. I anticipate the development of the magic system in the sequel.

  • Houston, TX

    I really liked this book! Can't wait for the sequel to come out. The characters were fun and the multiple perspectives helps build them. You may need to look up the Arabic, but it was fun to learn.

  • Ocala, FL

    We Hunt The Flame is one of the best fantasy books I have read this year! The story is told from two compelling characters, both fierce! Perfect for fans of An Ember In the Ashes and Grisha series.

  • Santa Maria, CA

    I LOVE We Hunt the Flame! It's such an underrated story! The world-building, SLOW-BURN romance, character development, and cliff hanger are done so well! I cannot believe it's Hafsah's debut novel.

  • Burlington, MA

    I have an unbelievable talent for picking out books I don’t know are the beginning of a series and then being tortured as I wait for the next. Alas! And so my watch begins. I devoured this book.

  • Huntington, WV

    This is one of those books that took a long time to get into and a short amount of time to finish. I’m looking forward to the series! The ending was a bit convoluted, but the middle was great!

  • New York, NY

    VERY VERY GOOD. Amazing characters. Great story. Sent me to a land of imagination. There was a slight sex appeal to it as well. Absolutely loved this cannot wait for next installment.

  • Austin , TX

    Aaaah the YA angst!! So. Freaking. ANGSTY. Really enjoyed the enemies to lovers and epic quest tropes, but some of the minor characters weren't very developed. Definitely plot driven!

  • Holland , MI

    This. Is. My. Favorite. Book. Ever. This is one I read over and over again, it is that good. I really hope the author continues the story. Soooooo good!

  • Coral Gables, FL

    AWESOME! If you love An Ember in the Ashes you'll love this book. The dual-perspective, the folklore and the imagery were fantastic. A beautiful novel.

  • Mccaulley, TX

    I really loved this book I loved the world building and all of the characters so very much I am looking forward to the next book.

  • Laie, HI

    The world that Faizal has created is incredible. The plot is great and isn't cliche or overdone in anyway. 10/10 would read again.

  • Calexico, CA

    I loved the world building and all the characters, it's fast paced and has you always on your toes. Can't wait for the sequel!

  • Mesa, AZ

    I LOVED this book! The adventure was awesome. The romance is frustrating but what romance isn't? I can't wait for the next one!

  • Deer Park, TX

    One of my all time favorite YA fantasy novels to date! Plus, Hafsah is so sweet. If you get the chance to meet her...do it!!!

  • Oviedo, FL

    Amazing fantasy story with a mystery nested inside. Characters I loved and can't wait to see again in the next book!

  • Hinesburg, VT

    Loved it! Great characters, interesting plot, not your typical run of the mill story. Can’t wait for the next one!

  • Robinson, TX

    It has been a long time since I've seriously thought about calling in sick just so I could keep reading a story.

Young adult
  • The Downstairs Girl
  • These Violent Delights
  • Legendborn
  • Anna K Away
  • Firekeeper's Daughter
  • Instructions for Dancing
  • The Boy in the Red Dress
  • Woven in Moonlight
  • Color Me In
  • Not So Pure and Simple
  • Throw Like a Girl
  • Frankly in Love
  • The Queen of Nothing
  • On the Come Up
  • Wayward Son
  • The Stars and the Blackness Between Them
  • Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
  • Anna K
  • The Rest of the Story
  • The Red Scrolls of Magic
  • This Time Will Be Different
  • Patron Saints of Nothing
  • Yes No Maybe So
  • Ashlords
  • Looking for Alaska
  • The Gilded Wolves
  • Permanent Record
  • Full Disclosure
  • The Sound of Stars
  • Oasis
  • Where the World Ends
  • I Have No Secrets
  • Song of the Crimson Flower
  • When the Stars Lead to You
  • All the Bright Places
  • The Girl the Sea Gave Back
  • Saving Zoë
  • Hello Girls
  • Mind Games
  • Symptoms of a Heartbreak
  • All of Us with Wings
  • The Boy and Girl Who Broke the World
  • Past Perfect Life
  • There's Something About Sweetie
  • Again, But Better
  • Sky Without Stars
  • How (Not) to Ask a Boy to Prom
  • You'd Be Mine
  • Night Music
  • Opposite of Always
  • When the Sky Fell on Splendor
  • Shout
  • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
  • The Deceivers
  • Enchantée
  • The Astonishing Color of After
  • Top Ten
  • Turtles All the Way Down
  • Little & Lion
  • A Million Junes
  • The Impossible Fortress
  • The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
  • You Will Know Me
  • The Sun Is Also a Star
  • Salt to the Sea